Lean Six Sigma  Master Black Belt

Certification Testing

The Master Black Belt certification is a five-and-a-half hour exam that consists of 110 multiple choice items and a performance-based assessment that measures comprehension of the GIAMC  Master Black Belt  Body of Knowledge. 100 of the multiple choice questions are scored and 10 are unscored. The performance-based portion of the exam includes situation specific materials that candidates will be directed to evaluate and respond to. It is offered in English.

Examinations are are delivered through GIAMC's testing partner s. Each participant must bring his or her own reference materials. Use of reference materials and calculators is explained in the FAQs.


Here are the minimum expectations, requirements and experience specifics for the Master Black Belt Certification.

Book Master Black Belt Exam

Work Experience

To become certified as a GIAMC  Master Black Belt, a candidate must successfully meet all requirements. To be eligible to apply for the Master Black Belt  examination, a candidate must hold a current GIAMC  Six Sigma Black Belt certification  and pass the Master Black Belt application review process.As a pre-requisite, a candidate must have one of the following experience levels:

1) At least 5 years of experience in the role of a Six Sigma Black Belt  or Master Black Belt
2) Completion of 10 Six Sigma Black Belt projects.

Candidates must be able to meet these minimum eligibility requirements in order to have their portfolio reviewed


For those who wish to sit for the exam it is recommended, but not required, that Lean Six Sigma training is obtained through a qualified institution, Lean Six Sigma trainer or corporate program.


Upon successful achievement, Professionals will receive GIAMC Master  Black Belt Certification issued by the Global Institute for Advanced Management Certification™, a true independent third-party Certification Association within the Lean Six Sigma Industry.

A GIAMC  Master Certified Black Belt is issued a Certificate (PDF) which includes a Certification Number, a digital badge, added to the Official GIAMC Certification Register and granted the right to use the GIAMC Certification Marks and Titles; a professional designation which may be used in resumes and public profiles such as LinkedIn, consistent with the GIAMC Marks Use Policy.